Friday, 05 August 2022 15:55

Whisky in the jar at New Zealand's Arable Awards

Written by  Staff Reporters
Rob and Toni Auld were presented with the Innovation Award. Rob and Toni Auld were presented with the Innovation Award.

The Innovation title at last night’s New Zealand Arable Awards went to Southland’s Auld Farm Distillery.

The distillery, an enterprise from Rob and Toni Auld, makes a range of three gins from a base alcohol of oats, wheat, and barley.

Auld Farm Distillery has achieved multiple world firsts with their products, something not entirely uncommon for an arable sector seen as world-leading in several categories on the international seed market.

Also a winner was Federated Farmers arable executive member David Birkett who was named Arable Farmer of the Year.

Birkett, who farms at Leeston, Canterbury, was noted as a recognized leader in environmental and sustainable farming, with a focus on soil quality. He is open to trialling any approach to reduce synthetic inputs, like biological products, cover crops, retaining straw, and is always willing to share his knowledge and results.

Former Federated Farmers national vice president Karen Williams with her husband Mick received the Environment & Sustainability Award.

Mick and Karen Williams FBTW

Karen Williams (left) and husband Mick Williams (right) were presented with the Environment & Sustainability Award.

Angela Clifford was named the 2022 Food Champion for her passionate advocacy for the arable industry. Clifford founded the organization EatNZ, which she uses to promote New Zealand-grown and produced food.

Full List of Winners

  • Agronomist of the Year: Roger Lasham, Ashburton
  • Grower of the Year – Grain: David & Anna Irving, Larnark Downs, South Canterbury
  • Grower of the Year – Small Seed: Hamish Marr, Methven
  • Grower of the Year – Maize: Chris Pellow, Chris Pellow Produce, Waikato
  • Emerging Talent Award: Lauren Beattie, Rakaia, South Canterbury
  • Environment & Sustainability Award: Karen & Mick Williams, Ahiaruhe Farm, Wairarapa
  • Arable Farmer of the Year: David Birkett, Birkett Farming, Leeston
  • Innovation Award: Rob and Toni Auld, Auld Farm Distillery, Southland
  • Arable Food Champion: Angela Clifford, EatNZ

More like this

Editorial: Slow down!

OPINION: The latest Federated Farmers survey of farmer confidence paints a worrying picture.

Ag contractors roadshow

Rural contractors will gather at five roadshows during August to focus on cost volatility and drivers.

Call for 'sensible change'

Newly elected chair of Federated Farmers’ dairy section, Horowhenua sharemilker Richard McIntyre says he’s looking forward to his role.


Machinery & Products

New disc cultivator launched

Väderstad has introduced a new disc cultivator – the Carrier XT 425-625 – featuring rotating disc axles, that optimizes results…

JD unlocks its digital system

As a long-term advocate of digital technology, John Deere has taken the route of mass data capture, rather than concentrating…

» The RNG Weather Report

» Latest Print Issues Online

The Hound

Fruitful change?

OPINION: Your canine crusader notes that meat company Silver Fern Farms has undergone quite a refresh over the last few…

All for show?

OPINION: The Hound notes that Fonterra is cashing in on the curent government's largesse with taxpayer money.

» Connect with Rural News

» eNewsletter

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter