Thursday, 28 July 2022 16:55

Arable Awards finalists named

Written by  Staff Reporters
Former Federated Farmers Vice President is among those named as a finalist in the 2022 Arable Awards of New Zealand. Former Federated Farmers Vice President is among those named as a finalist in the 2022 Arable Awards of New Zealand.

The innovators and heroes of New Zealand’s arable industry will be recognised at New Zealand’s Arable Awards next week.

Finalists in each of nine categories have been selected by independent judges for the 2022 Arable Awards of New Zealand, to be presented at a special event at Te Pae, Christchurch, on August 4.

“With Covid, supply chain and workforce disruption, inflation and all the other challenges going on, one might have thought nominating arable industry heroes for awards could slip as a priority,” says Colin Hurst, Federated Farmers Arable Group chairperson and national board member.

But not so, as there were 80 nominations.

“Clearly there are many others who, like Federated Farmers and our Arable Awards partners FAR, United Wheat growers and NZGSTA, recognise the value of celebrating and honouring the leaders and rising stars among our arable producers,” he says.

Judges have named Federated Farmers Southland President, Arable executive member David Birket and immediate past national vice-president Karen Williams (along with her husband Mick) as the three finalists for Arable Farmer of the Year.

“We are excited to bring the Arable Awards of New Zealand to life, an event put together by industry, for industry,” Hurst says.


Agronomist of the Year

  • Anna Gillum
  • David Weith
  • Roger Lasham
  • Rowland Tsimba

Grower of the Year – Grain

  • David & Anna Irving
  • Geoff Maw
  • Will MacKenzie

Grower of the Year – Small Seed

  • Hamis Marr
  • John McCaw
  • Ronald Hydes

Grower of the Year – Maize

  • Alastair Barnett
  • Chris Pellow

Emerging Talent Award

  • Andrew Darling
  • Ethan Flack
  • Lauren Beattie

Environment & Sustainability Award

  • Karen & Mick Williams
  • Simon Osborne
  • Taggart Farms Ltd.

Arable Farmer of the Year

  • David Birkett
  • Karen & Mick Williams
  • Chris Dillon

Innovation Award

  • Auld Distillery
  • E-Check Far Environment Team
  • Hopefield Hemp

Arable Food Champion

  • Angela Clifford
  • Blair & Jody Drysdale

Rob & Toni Auld

More like this

Editorial: Slow down!

OPINION: The latest Federated Farmers survey of farmer confidence paints a worrying picture.

Ag contractors roadshow

Rural contractors will gather at five roadshows during August to focus on cost volatility and drivers.


Machinery & Products

New disc cultivator launched

Väderstad has introduced a new disc cultivator – the Carrier XT 425-625 – featuring rotating disc axles, that optimizes results…

JD unlocks its digital system

As a long-term advocate of digital technology, John Deere has taken the route of mass data capture, rather than concentrating…

» The RNG Weather Report

» Latest Print Issues Online

The Hound

Fruitful change?

OPINION: Your canine crusader notes that meat company Silver Fern Farms has undergone quite a refresh over the last few…

All for show?

OPINION: The Hound notes that Fonterra is cashing in on the curent government's largesse with taxpayer money.

» Connect with Rural News

» eNewsletter

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter